New System Proposals

The system Sunnybrook uses a twenty-sided die (1d20) to determine the results of most actions. The Gm sets a difficulty for any given task. There are 10 degrees of difficulty. Thus, the difficulty of a task can be rated on a scale of 1 to 10. Each difficulty has a target number associated with it. The target number is always three times the task’s difficulty, so a difficulty 4 task has a target number of 12. To succeed at the task, you must roll the target number or higher. A student's skill, favourable, or excellent equipment can decrease the difficulty. And example of this would be Charlie is trying to climb a large building a difficulty 5 task. Luckily, he is trained in climbing so he decreases the difficulty to 4. If he was given climbing gear for this (This is called decreasing the difficulty by a step.) The GWU was smart enough to give Charlie climbing gear for this mission, decreasing the difficulty further to 3 meaning Charlie only needs to roll 9 instead of 15.

Task difficulty Description Target no Guidance
1 Simple 3 Should be able to do this most of the time
2 Standard 6 Typical task that requires attention, but most can usually do this
3 Demanding 9 Requires full attention. Most have a 50/50 chance of succeeding
4 Difficult 12 Trained people have a 50/50 chance to succeed.
5 Challenging 15 Even trained people often fail.
6 Intimidating 18 People almost never succeed
7 Formidable 21 Impossible without great skill or effort
8 Crazy 24 A task that lunchroom stories are made of
9 Insane 27 A task that legends and heros are made of
10 Impossible 30 A task that people don't consider. (But one that does not break the rules of reality)


You start off with ten health and ten mental wellness.


At the start of character creation you get 3 aspects to your character. Aspects are inherent parts of your character both whether supernatural or not that reduce the difficulty of a broad set tasks or have some other effect on your character.


Skills are narrow sets of talents and knowledge that your character possesses that allow them to do decrease the difficulty of tasks involving those talents or schools of knowledge. At the start you get 6 "Skill points to" To become trained which reduces the difficulty of a task by 1 step. Or you can become specialized in a trained skill, reducing the difficulty of a tasks by two steps.


Every student at Sunnybrook has some form of Supernatural ability. These work similarly to skills, but are things that normal humans can not achieve so try to avoid things like super reflexes. Read the characters page for advice as to what is acceptable. Supernatural abilities work much like skills except there is an additional level of advancement 'untrained' that you have to go through to become trained and then specialized in. You get 4 points in supernatural abilities. You have three points starting out. Physical Supernatural attacks deal damage 6 and mental ones do 4.


These are the downsides of special powers, these can be things such as deformities to well weaknesses. you don't have to have one, but if you do it ranges from mild to severe. Weaknesses are NOT limitations to your supernatural powers. Getting hit by your weakness increases your damage, determined by the GM.
Weaknesses affect you 24/7.

Mild - These are mild weaknesses. Things like visible gills or weakness to heat, add 1 to skills.

Severe - Very Severe weaknesses. These are things like a deformed face or weakness to sunlight, add 2 points to supernatural orr 2 points for skills, or gain an additional aspect.


There are various parts that make up an NPC vs a player.

Level: Each NPC has a level attached to it. Like the difficulty of a task, all creatures (and NPCs) have a level. You use the level to determine the target number a PC must reach to attack or defend against the opponent.

Health: How much damage they can take before falling.

Damage inflicted: Damage Inflicted: Generally, when creatures hit in combat, they inflict their level in damage regardless of the
form of attack. Some inflict more or less or have a special modifier to damage.

Armor: How much they reduce damage dealt to them, generally mental attacks go passed this.

Modifications: Use these default numbers when a NPC's information says to use a different target number. For example, a level 4 creature might say “defends as level 5,” which means PCs attacking it must reach a target number of 15 (for difficulty 5) instead of 12 (for difficulty 4).

You can also choose to build NPCs just like a PC and have them roll

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License